Manchester City and Liverpool will contest this year’s Community Shield at the end of July after they won the Premier League title and FA Cup title respectively. Leicester City are the defending champions after they beat Manchester City 1-0 during the 2021 edition. Nigerian forward Kelechi Iheanacho was responsible for the winning goal in the second half.

Liverpool qualified to take part in the Community Shield, which is the curtain raiser of the season, by winning the FA Cup title earlier this month. Liverpool were able to add the FA Cup title to the Carabao Cup title. The Reds defeated the same team to win both the Carabao Cup and FA Cup titles. Liverpool beat Chelsea 11-10 on penalties to win the Carabao Cup title in February after the two teams failed to break the deadlock in regulation time and extra time. The Merseyside giants made it two trophies by beating Chelsea 6-5 on penalties  to win the FA Cup final after 120 minutes ended without a single goal. Continue reading CITY, LIVERPOOL FOR 2022 COMMUNITY SHIELD